Shopping Cart
Sort By:

Arjan Miranda

After a name change and a seven-year hiatus from fronting his own band, Arjan Miranda (Black Mountain, Family Band, Children, S.T.R.E.E.T.S.) re-emerges with Spiritual America, a debut album that makes up for lost time with guitar moves steeped in Saturn’s slow return. Yes, this record treads a landscape that metal musicians rarely explore: what’s left to say when the haze of adolescence has faded, the guitar sits gathering dust in the closet, and youth’s utopian fantasies are long forgotten?


Miranda’s voice speaks to what remains, a voice calling out to us for the first time in years: “I break the silence / I break the silence.” Through him we hear a call — melodic and mystical, vulnerable and nostalgic — from the long-lost punk in all of us, the one still longing for a different world but willing to face the one we’re in.

Expertly riding the sonic precipice between classic rock, metal interludes and kosmische music, Spiritual America delivers us to that uniquely American underworld where spirituality intersects with rock and roll. “Poltergeist” sounds like Sinead and Enya jammed with Elliot Smith.  Soft and cinematic sounds cast a spell in “Fire and Ice,” while title track “Spiritual America” pounds forward with a sixteen minute psychedelic exploration, think Crazy Horse meets Flower Travellin’ Band.

Working alongside Miranda on this seven-track journey of artistic transformation is producer Randall Dunn (Sun O))), Wolves in the Throne Room), Don McGreevy (Earth, Sulphuric Symphonic), Steven Nistor (Daniel Lanois, Emmy Lou Harris), Jonathan Sielaff (Golden Retriever), Nils Peterson (Rose Windows), Ryan Oxford, Holland Andrews (Like a Villain), and Kim Krans (Family Band).

Spiritual America will be released on The Wild Unknown Records, June 20, 2017 for the summer solstice.

For press inquiries email: 

Arjan Miranda